Muzzleloader Laws in Nebraska

This information is subject to change, for more information and to check the dates of all game tours: outdoornebraska.ne.gov/huntingnebraska • Garden County Refuge: Portions of Garden County within 110 metres of the banks of the North Platte River are open for archery from September 1 to October 31 with permission from the landowner, with the exception of the portion of the Clear Creek Hut of the Clear Creek Wildlife Management Area west of the garden County line open to deer hunting during all established seasons, from September 1 to the Sunday before Thanksgiving. The following sanctuaries are open to all deer hunts, although permission from the landowner is required: Boyd-Holt County Refuge, Dodge-Saunders County Refuge, and Lincoln County Refuge. Anyone hunting deer under a firearms licence during an approved firearms season must display at least 400 square inches of orange hunting gear on their head, chest and back. Bowhunters must do the same, when hunting with bows during the firearms season in November and during the season of January 1 to 16 without antlers. It is illegal for a person to detect, locate or monitor a wild animal or bird using aircraft (including drones) on a day before or during an open season and to transmit information about the location of that animal or bird to a person or group of people by radio or other electronic device (including photographs of unmanned aerial vehicles). The use of aircraft (including drones) at any time to hunt, drive, harass, hunt or harass wild birds or wild animals is illegal. Youth Licence Requirements – Youth as young as 16 years of age are permitted to hunt with a juvenile deer licence provided they are 15 years of age at the time of application and are no more than 15 years of age on September 1, 2022. Immediately after the capture of a deer, the hunter must drill holes in the permit indicating the species, sex and date of killing. The cancelled licence must be kept with the deer at all times. Habitat Stamp – Residents 16 years of age and older and all non-residents must wear a valid Nebraska habitat stamp when hunting big game. Persons with a valid, no-fee licence and landowners who hunt their own land with a landowner`s licence do not need to purchase a habitat stamp to hunt big game. A 2022 stamp is valid for deer hunting in January 2023.

It is permitted to sell the skin, hair, hooves, bones and antlers of deer that are legally taken. The sale or purchase of deer meat is illegal. Shooting time – It is legal to film 30 minutes before sunrise to 30 minutes after sunset. All deer caught outside of the firearms season in November must be verified by remote control. This can be done online or by phone 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Call the phone number on the permit or visit OutdoorNebraska.org/deercheck. Available for two consecutive years for hunters who have not completed their hunter training. The fee is $5.

There is no limit to the length of time wild birds or wildlife can be owned. During the November firearms season, only hunters with a valid, uncompleted deer licence may hunt wildlife other than deer with centre fire rifles or centre firearms, provided they are hunting in the administrative unit for which their deer licence is valid. Fall Turkey Licence holders, which are only required for deer hunting with firearms during the November season, are permitted to hunt turkey with legal shotguns or archery rifles during the November firearms season. Visors – It is illegal to use electrical devices to amplify natural light or project a beam of light or image onto a target, including night or infrared vision telescopes and laser sights. Reticle sights and red-spotted and illuminated riflescopes are permitted. Magnification ranges and variable power zones are allowed. The licence holder must indicate the seal number indicated by the control station on the authorization of each remotely controlled deer. During the Nebraska Morderleloader hunting season, muzzle-loading weapons of .44 calibre or higher .62 calibre muzzle-loading muskets or higher that fire a single muzzle-loading worm, muzzle-loading handguns and muskets as defined above. Visors — It is illegal to use electrical devices to amplify natural light or project a beam of light or image onto a target, including night or infrared vision telescopes and laser sights. Reticle sights and red-spotted and illuminated riflescopes are permitted. Magnification ranges and variable power zones are allowed. Nebraska Mouth Loader Hunting Season All deer hunters between the ages of 10 and 15 and all hunters using the Apprentice Hunter Training Exemption Certificate must be accompanied when hunting by a licensed hunter 19 years of age or older.

The chaperone, if between the ages of 19 and 29, must be certified in firearms hunter training if hunting with a firearm or crossbow, or in bowhunter training if hunting with bow and arrow. He must be in unassisted visual and verbal communication with the hunter at all times. No more than two hunters may use the certificate accompanied by the experienced hunter. The carcase may be separated into loins and quarters, with the femur and shoulder blade naturally attached, provided that the head accompanies the carcase to the checkpoint. Hunter training is mandatory for hunters between the ages of 12 and 29 who hunt with a firearm or air rifle. Bowhunter training is required for these age groups while hunting big game with a bow and arrow or crossbow. You must have proof of certification.