Nevada Legal Prostitution Map

Nevada is very specific in terms of laws regarding prostitution and brothels because it is a way for prostitutes to make a living, but being safe. If you have been charged with a prostitution-related crime, contact a trusted lawyer to make sure your legal rights are protected. Prostitution-related crimes can turn into a sex offender charge, which carries a social stigma that you certainly don`t want to have. Our experienced lawyers at The Defenders will inform you about the laws of prostitution in Nevada. Currently, the number of legal brothels in Nevada is 21. Nevada is the only state in the United States to legalize prostitution. No. Brothels — as well as all other forms of prostitution (NRS 201,354) — are not permitted in Las Vegas or anywhere else in Clark County under NRS 244,345. Prostitutes and clients are charged with crimes simply because they offer or arrange sexual favors for money – while not even money changes hands and. Las Vegas officials, fearing that Conforte would use the same technique to open a nearby brothel, persuaded lawmakers in 1971 to pass laws prohibiting the legalization of prostitution in counties with populations above a certain threshold suitable only for Clark County. [5] Nevada law prohibits brothels from advertising in jurisdictions where local ordinances or state laws prohibit prostitution.

In jurisdictions where brothels are permitted, it is illegal for them to advertise “in any public theatre, on the public streets of a city or town, or on any public street”. Nevada is a very unique state where prostitution is legal in cities with a population of less than 700,000. Licensed brothel prostitution is only legal in the following counties: Brothels have been allowed in Nevada since the mid-20th century. In 1937, a law was passed requiring weekly health checks for all prostitutes. In 1942, President Franklin D. Roosevelt issued an order to suppress prostitution near military bases, affecting the red-light districts of Reno and Las Vegas. When this order was rescinded in 1948, Reno officials attempted to close a brothel as a public nuisance; This lawsuit was upheld by the Nevada Supreme Court in 1949. If the defendant is the alleged prostitute, the offense would be a misdemeanor and the penalties would be fines of up to $1,000 and/or up to 6 months in jail, which is rare. If the defendant is the alleged client, the first offense would be a misdemeanor punishable by fines of up to $1,000 and/or up to 6 months in jail. Other charges include an additional fine of $400 and a civil penalty of $200. A second offence would be considered a serious offence punishable by fines of up to $2,000 and/or one year in prison.

Additional fees include a fine of $800 and a civil penalty of $200. Receiving a third offence is also considered a serious offence, with the same costs as a second offence, plus an additional fine of $1,300. It is possible for defendants to participate in community service instead of paying the $200 civil fine. If the defendant is an alleged prostitute and knows they have HIV, this is considered a Class B offense with 2 to 10 years in Nevada State Prison and/or a $10,000 fine. If the accused is an alleged client who recruits a person under the age of 18, the first offence is considered a Class E felony, punishable by probation and a conditional sentence. A second offence would be a Class D criminal, with 1 to 4 years in prison and possibly up to $5,000 fine. In February 2011, U.S. Senator Harry Reid proposed making brothels illegal in Nevada. [83] [84] In 2009, prostitution researcher Melissa Ditmore wrote in The Guardian that brothels “impose extraordinary restrictions on sex workers” to “separate sex workers from the local community”: some jurisdictions prohibit prostitutes from leaving brothels for long periods of time, while other jurisdictions require prostitutes to leave the district when they are not working; Some places do not allow the children of women working in brothels to live in the same area; Some brothel workers who have cars are required to register the vehicle with local police, and workers are not allowed to leave the brothel after 5 p.m. In some counties, registered sex workers are not allowed to have a car. [57] Prostitution is illegal in Clark, Washoe, Carson City, Pershing, Douglas, Eureka, and Lincoln counties. These include Las Vegas and Reno, as well as the state capital.

“Putting a price on a person or body part is inhumane to me,” she said. “Now I`m totally against it, I want everything shut down and I want it to be illegal throughout the country and the world.” Nevada has laws against prostitution outside of licensed brothels, against encouraging others to engage in prostitution, and against living off a prostitute`s income.